Undergraduate Research

Home » our » find » srsp » Events

Summer 2018 Events

Below, you’ll find a list of events and important dates for summer 2018. Check back regularly for calendar updates and additional activity suggestions.

June

Dorms Open
Saturday, June 2, 9 a.m.

Ice Cream Social
Monday, June 11
3-4 p.m., UNB Court Yard

Establishing yourself as a researcher
Tuesday, June 12
3-4 p.m., FAC 328
Dr. Robert Reichle will talk about ways to make your budding research agenda known to others in your field. We’ll discuss ways you can fine-tune your ideas into an agenda you can pursue in graduate school, and online venues for establishing your footprint as an up-and-coming researcher.

Making the most of an academic conference
Friday, June 15
3-4 p.m., FAC 328
This 1-hour workshop will help students strategically approach their first academic conference. We’ll orient students to how conferences are set up; how to get the most out of the sessions they attend; how to network with peers and with established scholars; and how to prepare for their own presentation without losing sight of the other benefits of attending a conference.

Academic publishing for student researchers
Tuesday, June 19
3-4 p.m., FAC 328
Before you become involved in writing up research findings for publication, get an overview of how academic publishing works. We’ll discuss the options that student researchers can consider for submitting their work for publication, and we’ll orient you to the submission and revision process.

Grad School 101 & Funding for Graduate School
Presented by the Graduate School
Thursday, June 21
3-4:30 p.m., FAC 328

Entrepreneurship in Research
Presented by Blackstone LaunchPad
Wednesday, June 27
2-3 p.m., FAC 4

Bowling & Pizza Social
Sponsored by the Graduate School
Thursday, June 28
6-7:30 p.m., Texas Union Underground

July

Resume Workshop
Presented by Vick Center for Strategic Advising & Career Counseling
Thursday, July 5
3-4 p.m., FAC 328

Research Poster Design Workshop
Thursday, July 19
3-4:30 p.m., FAC 328
Learn about poster design principles; content to include in a research poster; understanding your audience; and evaluating a poster.

Research Poster Design Workshop
Tuesday, July 24
3-4:30 p.m., FAC 328

August

Poster Session
Thursday, Aug. 2
1-3 p.m., Union Ballroom

Dorms Close
Tuesday, Aug. 21, 9 a.m.