Home » news » 2021 Research Showdown Winners Announced

2021 Research Showdown Winners Announced

On March 29, the Office of Undergraduate Research announced the winners of the sixth annual Texas Student Research Showdown at a virtual award ceremony.

Students participating in this research communication competition created two-minute videos to explain their research and creative activity to a general audience. A panel of 16 judges scored the videos on their ability to capture an audience’s attention, tell a narrative, convey rigorous scholarship, and target a general (rather than expert) audience. Current undergraduates also voted for an audience award winner.

This year’s event featured 45 videos from 87 students competing in two categories (science, technology, and engineering; arts, humanities, and social sciences). The submitters of the winning videos received awards generously funded by a gift from Kimberly and Scott Martin.

STEM Category

First place ($2000)
Zoe Lalji

Second place ($750)
Arian Veyssi

Honorable mention:
Sanjna Bhatia, Satya Chintapalli, Jazzalyn Zou, Emily Samson

Nicholas Duggar

Katherine Faulkner

Kaitlyn Ng

Alizer Khowaja

Aniket Sanghi

Davis Roe

Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Category

First place ($2000)
Destiny Gonzales

Second place ($750)
Danielle Nwosa

Honorable mention:
John Erard

Sophie Schott

Aidan Wilhite, Shilpa Rumalla, Madison Sheridan, Madeleine Montgomery

Soufia Ali, Mahija Ginjupalli, Maharajni Perla, Oishika Das

Audience Award ($1000)
Sophie Schott