Home » about » Diversity & Inclusion

Diversity and Inclusion Committee


For the purposes of our conversations within the UGS community, we define diversity and inclusion as follows:

Diversity refers to differences across a group of people (for example, in gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, race, age, or veteran status) that derive from demographic traits or life experiences.

Inclusion is a transformative process. Becoming more inclusive means striving for a community where people of diverse backgrounds and experiences are welcomed, valued, and encouraged to contribute in ways that honor their specific knowledge, traditions, and abilities.

Mission and Purpose

The UGS Diversity and Inclusion Committee cultivates and maintains a respectful and inclusive climate for marginalized cultures, identities, expressions, and experiences through ongoing advocacy, education, and leadership initiatives that support the well-being of all.

Learn more about resources, trainings, and professional development opportunities available on campus.

Dean’s Message on Diversity

In spring 2017, the university’s Division of Diversity and Community Engagement (DDCE) published an action plan to examine how UT can provide the best education possible for students from all backgrounds. Part of that plan included the charge that each college, school, and unit should implement a committee that would address diversity and inclusion when it came to hiring as well as establishing a culture that is supportive of diverse people and ideas.

To that end, we created the School of Undergraduate Studies Diversity and Inclusion Committee to suggest programming and policies to help make our school a more welcoming and supportive environment for everyone. During the next academic year, the committee will be proposing a formal plan to address the DDCE’s goals, as well as adding events, training, and resources related to diversity and inclusion on this website.

It’s the committee’s role to facilitate this school-wide dialogue, and it’s up to all of us to contribute to this important initiative. I encourage each of you to contact a committee member with your thoughts and ideas around these topics and others.

—Brent Iverson, Dean

Committee Members

Phaedra Abbott, co-chair*
Patty Micks, co-chair**
Lane Mann, secretary*
Aneeque Baqai, student representative*

Alan Grimes*
Molly Gully*
Jeff Handy*
Melva Harbin**
Brooke Rich*
Paige Schilt**
Joanna Tryon**
Jay Whitehead*

Ex Officio Members
Crystal Dumbeck
Tamela Walker

“*” = Term ends after 2017–2018
“**” = Term ends after 2018–2019

Report a Campus Climate Incident

Do you have concerns about a campus climate incident but you are not sure what to do? If so, please contact the Campus Climate Response Team by submitting your concerns using the Campus Climate Incident Online Report Form.